Slanted eyes meet a new sunrise

Hong Kong Garden – Siouxsie and The Banshees

Such a bright and refreshing song.

Honestly, how many songs mix chords of, I guess, ancient chinese melodies with a bashing electric guitar ? It’s genius ! – only better.

But the title ? Didn’t you instantly think of a restaurant of some sort ? Exactly. Says Siouxsie in a 2001 Punk Top Ten interview :

“I’ll never forget, there was a Chinese restaurant in Chislehurst called ‘The Hong Kong Garden’. Me and my friend were really upset that we used to go there and like, occasionally when the skinheads would turn up it would really turn really ugly. These gits were just go in en masse and just terrorise these Chinese people who were working there. We’d try and say ‘Leave them alone’, you know. It was a kind of tribute.”

Seriously, I can’t put in words what I think of this song. It just makes me amazingly happy when I listen to it, so I thought I’d share.

Oh, and by the way, the song was so great it was featured in the movie Marie-Antoinette. Only difference is the intro was changed a little and replayed with string instruments. You can listen to it here, it’s still super-duper.

Very quick article I apologize for,

– Kmi

Siouxsie & The Banshees

Siouxsie & The Banshees

~ by thetunarhythm on April 25, 2009.

One Response to “Slanted eyes meet a new sunrise”

  1. HI..
    IM GOING TO LOOK AT YOUR SONGS.
    PETEY SUCKS BALLS.
    THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

 
