Summer’s here, the time is right for….making a playlist?

Like for every other teenager, summer vacation, the “big” one, or, for the luckier among us, time-for-tennis-camp-then-the-beach (n’est-ce pas, kmi?), is highly anticipated and very much celebrated when it rears its glorious head. It means relaxation, unquantifiable amounts of fruit smoothies, short short shorts and a whole lot of time. For me,  it certainly means using that time wandering aimlessly around the city, and where there is a a pointless promenade, there is a playlist. Or at least, there should be.

You see, every summer, I’m faced with the same challenge: making the perfect summer playlist. Finding songs that flow nicely into each other, invigorating me those arid July days and gently caressing me through those hot August nights. But every year, I have the same problem: I become so obsessed with one sub-genre of a sub-genre of a sub-genre of music (i.e. pop-techno-ska from the 80s with cheesy lyrics in ’06) , that I get tired of the songs by mid July. And that leaves me wandering my 1,000+ songs, when I could be wasting that time on something far more trivially interesting.

But this year, a new year, a new summer, will be different: I vow to come up with the ULTIMATE SUMMER PLAYLIST that is pure in its awesomeness, flows nicely, and does not accentuate any one sub-genre. But for that, I need the help of you, the reader: share your musical tastes with me. Give me the song that you listen to July, that you’re completely in love, that says SUMMER for you. Nobody’s judging, unless it’s this. Then, you’re on your own.

Here’s the link to The Summer Playlist

Please leave comments, tell me what you like and dislike, and above all give me recommendations so I can expand the playlist!

~Ady

~ by thetunarhythm on June 8, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
