Allow me to explain through interpretive…Arcade Fire?

Inspiration can often be derived from the oddest places: wise words. I feel compelled to give background tn this particular article, simply because it is so odd.

A dear friend of mine’s biggest hope and dream is to become a screenwriter for a comedy show: therefore, it’s only natural for her biggest influence to be Saturday Night Live (normally I would cleverly explain what these sort of things were, or leave some reference link or another. In this case, come on. If you really don’t know, I suggest you crawl out from underneath that rock of yours and do some T.V watching). One member of the S.N.L cast, Andy Samberg (one of her biggest heroes) has his own side comedy project: a comedy trio, consisting of him and his two best friends from high school Jorma Taccone and Akiva Schaffer, called The Lonely Island. With such hilarious and often crass songs such as Jizz In My Pants (I can’t even to begin to describe the kind of immature giggles I just erupted into as I typed that and watched the video again) and I’m On A Boat (motherfuckin’ yeah), they’ve taken the comedy world by storm, as well as given every adolescent an excuse to liberally say “I got my flippie floppies”, whatever the context.

But this is about one member in particular: Jorma Taccone, whose pure comedy genius can be summed up in these incredibly stupid yet hilarious 29 seconds. Famous videos that have been “leaked” (pssh yeah. Talk about convenient accidental publicity) are of Jorma Taccone doing a strange, spastic routine of arm and leg contortions, also known as his version of dancing, to S.N.L’s various music guests, ranging from My Chemical Romance to Fleet Foxes . In these gloriously obnoxious seconds, he gives new meaning to the line “allow me to explain through interpretive dance”.

Which brings me, finally, to the reason I’m writing this article: the other day, that friend sent me one of his marvelously pointless dances to one of my favorite bands of all time, Arcade Fire. When I saw this, I almost cried with joy: not only did this mark a transfer into mainstream of one of the most prolific and beautiful Canadian indie rock bands, but Taccone had also successfully expressed my general sentiments when I listen to the song he so obnoxiously moved to: Keep The Car Running, my all-time favorite song by them. With those few seconds, Jorma Taccone really did explain to me through interpretative dance the pure joy of this song.

Words cannot describe how I feel when I listen to the song: the sheer beauty of the lyrics, the powerful melody and Win Butler’s ever evocative and husky voice make of this song a true masterpiece and take my breath away. The 2007 album it’s from, “Neon Bible” is excellent too; though I do favor their 2004 album “Funeral” over this one, they’re both masterpieces strong and unique in themselves: Neon Bible delivers a bittersweet and profoundly dark sound whereas Funeral has a more raw, almost savagely passionate at times, one. Regardless of the feel of the sound, the finesse is always the same: every song is multi-faceted, fascinating from start to finish, and brilliantly executed. As one very wise YouTube user commented on the link to “Keep The Car Running” used above (I’m not a stalker so much as a little music geek who must comment on her favorite songs everywhere), “they make the infinite touchable inside with their beautiful sound.”

To conclude this tedious anecdote,  Arcade Fire is an amazing, unique band that I hope will only continue to create stunning songs. I hope you will enjoy them as much as I do, as well as The Lonely Island, whom I’ve inadvertently (though not regrettably) promoted in this article.

~Ady

~ by thetunarhythm on July 24, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
